Peter Lax Award

The Scientific Committee of HYP2020 has decided to institute the ‘Peter Lax Award’ in honour of Lax’s seminal contributions, which laid the foundations of modern theory and computation in the area of hyperbolic conservation laws.

This distinction will be awarded to a young researcher (10 years within the PhD) in every future HYP Conference. The awardee will be invited to give a distinguished plenary lecture at the conference.

The Scientific Committee, after a careful selection process, has decided to distinguish with the first Lax Award to Jacob Bedrossian (Maryland U. – USA) for his brilliant achievement in mathematical theory of fluid dynamics.

James Glimm Lecture

The Scientific Committee of HYP2020 has decided to institute a special lecture to be held as part of every future HYP conference, named the “James Glimm Lecture” in honour of Glimm’s fundamental and original ideas, which revolutionized research in the area of hyperbolic conservation laws. Establishing such a lecture will enhance the visibility of these conferences and historical depth of our field.


Click here for a biographical sketch of Prof. Glimm

The first James Glimm Lecturer will be Constantine Dafermos (Brown U. – USA)
Chair: James Glimm (Stony Brook U. – USA)

Plenary Speakers


Manuel J. Castro (U. Málaga – Spain)

Eduard Feireisl (Inst. Math. Prague – Czech Republic) Abstract

Jan S. Hesthaven (EPFL Lausanne – Switzerland)

Denis Serre (ENS Lyon – France)

Eleuterio F. Toro (U. Trento – Italy) Abstract

Tong Yang (City Univ. Hong Kong – China) Abstract

Confirmed Invited Speakers


Raphaël Loubère (U. Bordeaux – France)

Benjamin Gess (U. Bielefeld – Germany)

Kenneth H. Karlsen (U. Oslo – Norway)

Giovanni Russo (U. Catania – Italy)

Min Tang (Shanghai Jiaotong U. – China)

Konstantina Trivisa (U. Maryland – USA)

Emil Wiedemann (U. Ulm – Germany)

Yao Yao (Georgia Tech. – USA)